BIG DATA - BIG PROBLEMS

The growth in data volumes is exponential, at the latest due to the triumphant advance of the Internet. But even beyond the data octopus of the Internet, a lot of data is being collected: According to a McKinsey study, the potentially exploitable data volume generated by a fully occupied airplane on a single one-way flight is estimated at over 200 terabytes. Contrary to expectations that might arise in view of the term, it is by no means only the data volume that is at the centre of the Big Data movement. This is because the current weapon cabinet of data analysis, which is usually summarized under the term Business Intelligence, requires strongly pre-structured and well-designed data models - and thus a time-consuming process. This is one reason why relevant projects are very often overtaken by reality - in surveys, end users cite speed in response to structural changes and new requirements as the main problems in their bi-initiatives, in addition to the "evergreen" query speed.

LESS STRUCTURE, MORE DATA

This is why the big data approach differs from conventional approaches in that it can handle polystructured data flexibly. In addition to classic structured data, such as those generated by an internal ERP system, semi-structured documents, such as documents based on HTML or XML standards, or completely unstructured documents are also used. Blogs are a good example of the latter: Many brand manufacturers try to find out and analyze how often and in what context their products are mentioned in blogs and forums. And this example is the best way to summarize the problems that Big Data is trying to solve:

First: There is a lot of data, it is not structured or the structure is not within the company's sphere of influence and can change dynamically.

Second: Methodological evaluation requires completely new analysis technologies: In this specific case, algorithms which recognize the context - is it a complaint, a commendation or a comparison with a competing product - in all major world languages.

Third: This requires not only additional technology, but also a combination of understanding of the business problem and a deep understanding of what is technologically feasible.

Some industry analysts see this as the new profession of "data scientist". Hotline operators are already experimenting with speech recognition algorithms that recognize the context from the tonality of the spoken word and can thus distinguish an emotionally presented complaint from a routine inquiry. If such technologies succeed in recognizing changes in customer behavior much earlier, for example, a competitive advantage is undoubtedly generated. Scenarios of this kind also carry uncertainty inherent in the system: In contrast to BI systems based on internal data, both the aggregation of data and the analysis must work with partially incomplete data and probabilities, a scenario for which conventional bi- and DWH solutions are completely inadequately prepared today. The well-known IT analyst Wolfgang Martin sums it up pointedly: "The single point of truth goes swimming.

SOFTWARE ENGINEER

We are looking for a Software Engineer (m/f/x), who wants to give us the right throttle and fits into our young and dynamic team.

Read more

BIG DATA - BIG PROBLEMS

Das Wachstum der Datenmengen ist spätestens durch den Siegeszugs des Internet exponentiell. Aber auch abseits der Datenkrake Internet werden kräftig Daten gesammelt: Das potentiell auswertbare Datenvolumen, das ein vollbesetztes Flugzeug auf einem einzigen One-Way-Flug generiert, wird laut einer Mc-Kinsey-Studie auf über 200 Terabyte geschätzt. Entgegen der Erwartungshaltung, die Angesichts des Begriffes entstehen könnte, ist es aber keineswegs alleine die Datenmenge, die im Zentrum der Big-Data-Bewegung steht. Denn der bisherige Waffenschrank der Datenanalyse, der unter dem Begriff Business Intelligence üblicherweise zusammengefasst wird, setzt stark vorstrukturierte und gut konzipierte Datenmodelle voraus – und damit einen zeitraubenden Prozess. Ein Grund, warum einschlägige Projekte sehr oft von der Realität überholt werden – Endanwender nennen bei Befragungen neben dem „Evergreen“ Abfragegeschwindigkeit die Geschwindigkeit bei strukturellen Änderungen und neuen Anforderungen als Hauptprobleme bei ihren Bi-Initiativen.

WENIGER STRUKTUR, MEHR DATEN

Deswegen unterscheidet sich der Big-Data-Ansatz von bisherigen konventionellen Ansätzen in erster Linie dadurch, flexibel mit polystrukturierten Daten umgehen zu können. Neben den klassischen strukturierten Daten, wie sie beispielweise von einem internen ERP-System generiert werden, kommen semistrukturierte Dokumente, wie auf den Standards HTML oder XML aufbauende oder auch völlig unstrukturierte Dokumente hinzu. Für letzteres sind Blogs ein gutes Beispiel: Viele Markenartikelhersteller versuchen herauszufinden und zu analysieren, wie oft und in welchem Kontext ihre Produkte in Blogs und Foren erwähnt werden. Und an diesem Beispiel lassen sich die Probleme, die Big Data zu lösen versucht, bestens zusammenfassen:

Erstens: Es sind sehr viele Daten, diese sind nicht strukturiert oder die Strukturierung liegt nicht im Einflussbereich des Unternehmens und kann sich dynamisch verändern.

Zweitens: Die methodische Auswertung erfordert völlig neue Analysetechnologien: Im konkreten Fall Algorithmen, welche den Kontext – handelt es sich um eine Beschwerde, eine lobende Erwähnung oder einen Vergleich mit einem Konkurrenzprodukt – in allen wesentlichen Weltsprachen erkennen.

Drittens: Dafür ist nicht nur zusätzliche Technologie erforderlich, sondern auch eine Kombination aus Verständnis für das Business-Problem und tiefgreifendem Verständnis für das technologisch sinnvoll Machbare.

Einige Branchenanalysten sehen daraus das neue Berufsbild des „Data Scientist“ erwachsen. Hotline-Betreiber experimentieren bereits mit Spracherkennungsalgorithmen, die aus der Tonalität des gesprochenen Wortes den Kontext erkennen und so eine emotional vorgetragene Beschwerde von einer Routineanfrage unterscheiden können. Gelingt es, mit derartigen Technologien beispielsweise ein verändertes Kundenverhalten deutlich früher zu erkennen, generiert sich zweifellos ein Wettbewerbsvorteil. Derartige Szenarien tragen auch Unschärfe systemimmanent in sich: Im Gegensatz zu auf internen Daten basierenden BI-Systemen muss sowohl bei der Aggregation der Daten wie auch bei der Analyse mit teilweise unvollständigen Daten sowie Wahrscheinlichkeiten gearbeitet werden, ein Szenario, auf das die konventionellen Bi- und DWH-Lösungen heute völlig unzureichend vorbereitet sind. Der bekannte IT-Analyst Wolfgang Martin fasst es pointiert zusammen: „Der Single Point of Truth geht baden.“