Skip to main content

REPORTING DESIGN

Financial reporting and annual reports are a daily part of business life. The design of external and internal reporting is a challenging and complex task. A consistent and easy-to-understand reporting design for business reports is important, as misrepresentations can easily mislead decision makers into misinterpretations. In the theroy, there is agreement on the overall three principles of reporting design. On the one hand, the forms of presentation used should be simple, clear and standardized.

 

EASY

The forms of presentation used must be easy in order to focus the report reader's focus on the essentials.

 

CLEAR

Compact and clear representations that avoid uncertainties, misunderstandings and perceptual anomalies.

 

STANDARD

A consistent, rule-based approach encourages learning and builds trust in reporting.

 

EFFECTIVE REPORTING

Controllers today are required in reporting to process significant amounts of data so that managers can draw the necessary conclusions quickly and accurately. In addition to the selection of the "right" content, the focus is increasingly on optimal visual processing.Very different patterns of perception among decision makers require a professional, standardized implementation of the reporting design.To achieve this goal, a broad project experience and efficient project management are mandatory. This is the only way for effective reporting to emerge from naturally grown and decentralized reporting.

 

The goal should be to provide the most relevant information with appropriate graphics (e.g., waterfall graphics) and any additional information should be assigned to an attachment.

 

SCOPE OF APPLICATION - REPORTING DESIGN

The scope of application includes all types of company reports and ranges from reports for specialist departments such as production, sales, etc. to top management reports and classic business reports. It is detached, whether it is a print version or a reporting dashboard solution - even the current medium such as the PC, the tablet or smartphone does not matter.

 

IBCS®-STANDARDS

As part of our reporting development for the CoPlanner software, we are guided by the basic rules of Prof. Dr. med. Rolf Hichert (www.ibcs.com). The rules of Prof. Dr. med. Hichert is an optimal support for the standardization and consolidation of information in reporting. Thanks to the IBCS® standards, annual reports are visually and content optimized. The rules of Prof. Hichert are part of intelligent controlling.

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR REPORTING DASHBOARDS

  • Defining the target audience of the dashboard exactly

  • Integrate only audience-relevant data

  • set the timeline dashboard update

  • choose a suitable and meaningful way of the dashboard

  • Logically group and group data together and define a suitable layout

  • Use visualization forms, languages and symbols that are uniformly communicated and familiar in the enterprise. Preferably, follow the guidelines of information design

  • Provide a simple and clear overview, user-friendly navigation including drill-down functions

  • Test all dimensions and representations

  • If necessary, provide appropriate assistance or instructions / online documentation

Thanks to CoPlanner, our entire reporting system is much more efficient. At the push of a button, we now receive meaningful reports that we can build up according to the purpose.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

REPORTING DESIGN

Finanzreporting bzw. Geschäftsberichte sind ein alltäglicher Bestandteil des Geschäftslebens. Die Ausgestaltung des externen und internen Berichtswesens ist eine herausfordernde und komplexe Aufgabenstellung. Ein einheitliches und gut verständliches Reporting Design für Geschäftsberichte ist wichtig, da falsche Darstellungen sonst die Entscheidungsträger schnell zu Fehlinterpretationen verleiten können. In der Therorie herrscht Einigkeit über die übergeordneten drei Grundsätze für Reporting Design. Zum einen sollten die eingesetzten Darstellungsformen einfach, klar und standardisiert sein.

EINFACH

Die eingesetzten Darstellungsformen müssen einfach sein, um den Fokus des Berichtslesers auf das Wesentliche zu lenken.

KLAR

Kompakte und klare Darstellungen, welche Unsicherheiten, Missverständnisse und Wahrnehmungsanomalien vermeiden.

STANDARD

Durch eine einheitliche, durchgängige, regelbasierte Vorgehensweise fördert man Lerneffekte und baut Vertrauen in das Reporting auf.

EFFEKTIVES BERICHTSWESEN

Controller sind heute im Berichtswesen gefordert, erhebliche Datenmengen so aufzubereiten, dass Führungskräfte die notwendigen Schlüsse schnell und treffsicher ziehen können. Neben der Selektion der „richtigen" Inhalte rückt die optimale visuelle Aufbereitung immer stärker in den Vordergrund. Stark unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungsmuster bei Entscheidern erfordern eine professionelle, standardisierte Umsetzung des Reporting-Designs. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, sind eine breite Projekterfahrung und ein effizientes Projektmanagement obligatorisch. Nur so kann aus einem natürlich gewachsenen und dezentral gesteuerten Reporting ein effektives Berichtswesen entstehen.

Das Ziel sollte sein, die wichtigsten Informationen mit passenden Grafiken (z.B. Wasserfallgrafik) anzugeben und alle darüber hinausgehenden Informationen sollten einem Anhang zugeordnet werden.

ANWENDUNGSBEREICH - REPORTING DESIGN

Der Anwendungsbereich schließt jegliche Ausprägung von Unternehmensberichten ein und reicht von Reports für Fachabteilungen wie Produktion, Vertrieb, usw.  über Top-Management-Reports bis hin zum klassischen Geschäftsbericht. Er ist losgelöst, ob es sich um eine Druckversion oder eine Reporting-Dashboard-Lösung handelt - auch das aktuelle Medium wie der PC, das Tablet oder Smartphone spielt hierbei keine Rolle.

IBCS®-STANDARDS

Im Rahmen unserer Reporting-Entwicklung für die CoPlanner-Software richten wir uns an die Grundregeln von Prof. Dr. Rolf Hichert (www.ibcs.com). Das Regelwerk von Prof. Dr. Hichert ist eine optimale Hilfestellung für die Standardisierung und Verdichtung von Information im Reporting. Dank der IBCS®-Standards werden Geschäftsberichte visuell und inhaltlich optimiert. Die Regeln von Prof. Hichert sind Bestandteil für intelligentes Controlling. 

WICHTIGE INFORMATIONEN FÜR REPORTING DASHBOARDS

  • Zielgruppe des Dashboards exakt definieren

  • Integrieren Sie nur Zielgruppen-relevante Daten

  • die zeitliche Dashboard-Aktualisierung festlegen

  • eine passende und sinnvolle Art des Dashboards auswählen

  • Daten logisch zusammenfassen und gruppieren sowie ein passendes Layout festlegen

  • Verwenden Sie Visualisierungsformen, Sprachgebräuche und Symbole, die einheitlich kommuniziert und vertraut sind im Unternehmen. Richten Sie sich vorzugsweise an die Richtlinien des Information Designs

  • Ermöglichen Sie eine einfache und klare Übersicht, eine benutzerfreundliche Navigation inklusive Drilldown-Funktionen

  • Testen Sie alle Dimensionen und Darstellungen

  • Bieten Sie bei Bedarf entsprechende Hilfestellungen bzw. Anleitung / Online-Dokumentationen an

Dank CoPlanner ist unser gesamtes Berichtswesen wesentlich effizienter. Auf Knopfdruck erhalten wir jetzt aussagekräftige Reports, die wir dem Zweck entsprechend aufbauen können.